Board of Whitman County Commissioners

About the Board

The Whitman County Board of Commissioners serve as the executive and legislative authority for Whitman County, Washington. Commissioners serve as the Chief Administrators for many county operations as well as have some quasi-judicial responsibilities. 

The Board is responsible for adopting, amending and repealing all county ordinances, including zoning, traffic, planning and public safety ordinances and any other ordinance concerning the general welfare of the county. 

The Commissioners appoint the citizen advisory committees and boards and appoint non-elected department heads.

Whitman County Commissioners

Art SwannackArt Swannack, District 1 , 2024 Chairman


 0104211423a (002)

Tom Handy, District 2, 2024 Vice Chair 


Michael Largent

Michael Largent, District 3 

Contact & Biography



Commissioner Meetings

Unless otherwise noted. Meetings are held Mondays, if Monday is a holiday the meeting will be held the following Tuesday.  Commissioner workshops begin at 9:00 AM, with the regular meeting starting at 10:15 AM.*


Meetings can be attended in person in the Whitman County Courthouse, Commissioner Chambers at 400 N Main, Colfax Washington.  

Remote attendance is available at


All persons desiring to introduce an item for Commission discussion must submit the issue to the Clerk of the Board no later than 12:00 p.m. on Wednesday preceding the meeting,  unless otherwise noted.


The Commissioners Chambers is accessible to the disabled via the Mill Street entrance. For special services, call (509) 397-5240 by 12:00 p.m. on Wednesday preceding the meeting.


*Meeting dates, times and agendas are subject to change without public notice.

Departmental Responsibilities

  • Emergency Services/Civil Defense Programs
  • Park and Recreation Systems
  • Planning and Zoning in Unincorporated Areas
  • Public Health Services
  • Public Roads and Public Works Programs
  • Other services and programs clearly not the responsibility of another Elected County Official

County Commissioner Redistricting

District Boundaries Map & County Code Description (PDF)

District boundaries were established pursuant to the requirements of 2020 redistricting. These Boundaries were adopted on December 20th, 2021 and became active January 1st, 2022.

Communities and populations in Washington change over time. Every 10 years, after the federal government publishes updated census information, Washington redraws the boundaries of its congressional and state legislative electoral districts to ensure that each district represents an equal number of residents. For more information visit