Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes

2009-2019 Whitman County Commissioner Minutes are available at:

Washington State Archives-Whitman County

Regular Meeting - The Whitman County Commissioners meet every Monday beginning at 9:00 a.m. (unless otherwise noted) in the Whitman County Public Service Building Auditorium (310 N Main, Colfax, WA, First Floor).

Remote participation is available for attending the Commissioners’ meetings at:  https://.us/j/250921172

Whitman County Commissioners

Art Swannack
District 1

Art Swannack

Tom Handy
District 2
Tom HandyContact & Biography

Michael Largent
District 3
Michael LargentContact & Biography

County Commissioner Redistricting

Current District Boundaries Map & County Code Description

Existing district boundaries were established pursuant to the requirements of 2010 redistricting.

Communities and populations in Washington change over time. Every 10 years, after the federal government publishes updated census information, Washington redraws the boundaries of its congressional and state legislative electoral districts to ensure that each district represents an equal number of residents. For more information visit Whitman County is in process of redistricting for the 2020 census data, it is anticipated that the below proposed boundaries will be accepted for January 1st, 2022.

Proposed District Boundaries Map & County Code Description (PDF)


Commissioners serve as the chief administrators for many important county operations and have some quasi-judicial responsibilities. The County Commissioners’ primary duties are to levy taxes to operate the county and adopt a balanced budget for each calendar year. The Commissioners are responsible for adopting, amending and repealing all county ordinances including zoning, traffic, planning and public safety ordinances and any other ordinance concerning the general welfare of the county. 

The Commissioners are responsible for the appointment of citizen advisory committees and boards, and appoint non-elected department heads.

Departmental Responsibilities

  • Emergency Services/Civil Defense Programs
  • Park and Recreation Systems
  • Planning and Zoning in Unincorporated Areas
  • Public Health Services
  • Public Roads and Public Works Programs
  • Other services and programs clearly not the responsibility of another Elected County Official